It’s now part of our tradition in NBA to give honour to whom honour is due for in the radio broadcasting  industry in Nigeria, was exact words of    Director National  Broadcast Academy  (NBA) Eng Ajibola Abiola ,

When addressing the guest during the media edition of world radio day and conferment of awards with a theme, RADIO AS A TOOL FOR DIALOGUE, TOLERANCE AND PEACE, this year theme.    Eng, Ajibola explain, that is  actually coming at  a good and proper time in our nation, just a few days to the general election,  that there’s a need for us to deploy Radio as a tool of engagement for dialogue, tolerance and peace among the politicians and the populace, so that we can have a stable united and  progressive nation.

This is in line with UNESCO’s guideline, as a body, Unesco is celebrating its  8th edition, explaining radio as strong tools, that transform, inspire and unifies people.

As we all know radio is a well-recognized tool of mass communication that reaches the widest audience in the world which Nigeria is part of,  it’s cheap, dynamic, reactive and engaging medium of communication adaptable to 21century, change and offering new ways for interaction and participation, which is suitable in reaching remote communities and vulnerable in the society, radio,  informs, inspires and educate giving people chance to contribute to governance and public debate irrespective of their educational background media edition of word Radio day and conferment of award on distinguished radio personalities that have contributed immensely to the development of Radio in Nigeria.      most of the awardees are and their categories are;

Most innovative station of the year……….. Max FM

Most audience-friendly station of the year ……… Bond FM

pidgin Newscaster of the year,……….Arab Akalogu (Radio one)

Most Entertaining station of the year ……….( Metro FM)

Most versatile producer of the year ………Moufudeen Adedeji (Bond)

Newscaster of the year …………. Fidel Ebohon (Radio one)

Sports presenter of the year ……… Anabelle okwerri ( Metro Fm)

Radio Broadcast Icon of the year  ………. Jones Usen

Leadership Award   9lagos Operations)    Prince AdeyInka Amosu

Leadership Award ( Lagos operations)  Ken Ike Okere,

All the people nominated to be awarded for the maiden edition of the  WRD Award where nominated by the general manager of different stations, due to limited time to call for entries.

At the same time appreciating other broadcasters for their contribution towards nations building.

In his closing remark, he called for other broadcasters across the nation not to relent in putting in their best since their good work will not be left on unnoticed.

About admin

Check Also

The lady and the hotel manager were arrested after a man dies in a sex romp

A yet-to-be-identified man slumped and died on Wednesday at a hotel in Ada George in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.