Buhari orders FEC members with political ambitions to resign on or before May 16th, 2022.

President Muhammadu Buhari has directed all members of the Federal Executive Council FEC running for elective offices to submit their letters of resignation on or before May 16, 2022.

Minister of information and Culture, Lai Mohamed, disclosed this while speaking to journalists during the Federal Executive Council meeting on Wednesday.

The Information Minister added that the directive also involves political appointees.

He however clarified that the directive excludes the Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo as he is an elected member of the cabinet.

Those affected are the ministers of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio; Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya; State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba; Petroleum (State), Timipre Sylva who have all joined the presidential race on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Others are the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation Abubakar Malami, who is vying for the Kebbi governor seat; Minister of State Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar, who is running for the governorship position in Abia State, and the Minister of Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen, who declared her ambition to contest for a senatorial seat in Plateau State.

Mr Mohammed stressed that this mandate excludes the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo because he is an elected member of the cabinet.

He affirmed that any amendment or additions to this directive will be disseminated accordingly. The Minister added that if the need arises, the directive might involve political appointees.

About admin

Check Also

Deborah Samuel; Nigerians reacts as TVC Television change the narrative of Sokoto lynching.

Television continental has been heavily criticised by Nigerians online as they change the narratives of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.